Three Temptations: Self Serving, Self Gratifying, and Seeking Popularity

  • “One does not live by bread alone.”
  • “Worship the Lord your God, and serve only him.”
  • “Do not put the Lord your God to the test.’ “

 

If I don’t take care of #.1 who will?  I need to take advantage of my opportunities to better myself. I yearn for my ten minutes of fame and glory.  Ulterior motives are normally at the center of self. “I like talking about you, you, you, you usually, but occasionally I want to talk about me, I want to talk I, I want to talk about # 1 oh me oh my. What I think, what I like, what I want, what I know, what I see.”  (Ala Toby Keith)  The words I, me, and mine are real temptations to focus on and serve self; all the while leaving God’s will for our lives on mute!  The road to holiness of heart and life is taking the high, and less travelled road of servant-hood! Oh’ the selfless acts of loving God and loving your neighbors can negate these three temptations in your life. We Christians do not live by bread alone but by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God. We Christians must first worship the Lord our God, and serve only Him. We Christians should not put God to a foolish test, rather bring glory honor and praise to Him through simple yet nourishing acts of servant-hood to our fellow-man.

Leave a comment